Ah, computer repair

You know what’s not fun? Waiting for a computer to be fixed that has all of your thesis and teaching materials on it. Yes, yes, I know. I should’ve had everything backed up, especially when I’ve lost stuff this way before and when a friend’s computer crashed just a few weeks ago, and when I actually got out disks the day before it broke but got too distracted and didn’t do it.

Now we shall be buying me an external back-up hard drive. Now, if the computer’s hard drive ever goes kaput again, it won’t be as big of a deal. But the computer repair guy seems pretty confident that he’ll be able to get “most” of the files. Let’s just hope he gets all of the files in the “Creative Writing” and “Teaching Assistant Stuff” folders. Ugh. Fortunately, I have fairly recent copies of almost all of my thesis stuff printed out. Ugh again.

But not having my thesis stories available to revise, I’ve been forced into starting a new story, which is actually a good thing since workshop starts in two weeks and I’ll need to have something to turn in fairly soon.

Ugh for the last time.

One Comment

  1. I used to offer online backup subscriptions to my customers. The only problem is that nobody takes backups seriously until they lose important data. I couldn’t sell enough subscriptions, so I cut that service from my offerings.

Leave a Reply

