Ah, pleasure reading

This summer I hope to catch up on my reading. Though I love reading, I tend to find ways to avoid it, which is a problem since I’m a writer and someone who ostensibly likes reading.

I’ve just added a new book to my “Reading Future” list over on the right: Ken Kesey’s Sometimes a Great Notion. Ken Kesey also wrote the much more famous One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest. Ken Kesey lived in Eugene and attended University of Oregon and lived out his later years in Pleasant Hill; both books (as well as most of his others) are set in Oregon.

I discovered the existence of this book while searching around on the internet for movies that were filmed in Oregon. During my search, I found a community board where people were listing all the movies filmed in Oregon. And one of them was the movie version of Sometimes a Great Notion. And then I followed a link to a ten-minute clip on YouTube of a very moving scene from the book/movie. I’d recommend watching it whether you intend to read the book or have watched the movie before: http://youtube.com/watch?v=vKdF-IP7rE0. It appears to start slowly but picks up. Watching it was enough to make me want to read the book.

Off to read, maybe.

One Comment

  1. Have you seen the film of “Sometimes a Great Notion” with Paul Newman and Henry Fonda and Lee Remick? It’s great. I highly recommend it.

Leave a Reply

