Ah, quilt & blueberries (2 posts today)

On my birthday, I picked about a gallon of blueberries for $5.20!! It was my first “u-pick” experience. I want to go back and pick more, but I’m quickly running out of freezer space what with all the raspberries as well (not u-picked but very fresh!). I would love to be able to eat frozen berries through fall, winter, and spring, but I’m afraid that I don’t have the capacity for it. I tried convincing Donnie that buying a deep freeze for our rented garage would be a wise investment. But the number don’t exactly work out.

133_3321.JPG
Mmmm. Berries.

A few months ago, I bought a baby quilt starter bundle called “Bubble Bath” that had all the material with instructions. It was on clearance for only $12. I used a friend’s mat and rotary cutter to cut the pieces and then I spent Saturday evening from about 4-10 sewing it together using my friend Sarah’s machine (whose instruction manual I read through very thoroughly). Unfortunately, the seams aren’t very straight, which didn’t seem like that big of a deal when initially sewing each row. But once I sewed them all together, the discrepancies are quite apparent. Oops!

And then yesterday, I bought some white and blue embroidery thread ($0.29 each!!) and tied it off! I’m very proud of myself 🙂

133_3316.JPG
Quilt!

133_3317.JPG
Details!

133_3319.JPG
Back!

One Comment

  1. Hey, Crystin, here. Now that I know who you are I came to check out your blog. I was so envious to hear of your blueberry picking! Ok, so I’m not really envying you but I’m so glad you got to do that. It saves so much money, is fun, and delicious! Ben and I were invited to one in Mississippi but were behind 2 wrecks on the way out there and drove 1 1/2 hours and hardly got 25 miles from home! So, there was no way we could make it. I was so bummed. I hope next year we can get to one. I love cooking with blueberries. It was good to read some of your blog and get to know you….do you have kids?…how did you know the moby wrap was so great?…just wondering 🙂

Leave a Reply

