Ah, knitting

So Donnie and I did our stockings early this year (Sunday afternoon), and in my stocking, I found a ball of yarn, knitting needles, and a little instructional booklet on how to knit! For a few weeks, I had been talking about wanting to learn how to knit, especially after watching my friend Lauri knit a cute little pig, which made the gift feel especially thoughtful 🙂

So I sat right down and in a matter of minutes, had mastered casting on. Of course, I made mistakes, so I kept unraveling and restarting to make sure that I wasn’t developing bad habits. And then I decided to start trying to actually knit. It was a little scary at first, but then I just kept going and figured I could make a scarf. But I quickly realized that I had way too many stitches for a scarf so that it would turn out to be a hybrid scarf/shawl instead.

My fat scarfAs you can see, it’s quite huge, and it was taking me forever to knit a row. Note to self: 35 stitches is way too many for a scarf.

 

 

 

 

 

 

I left it that way Sunday night, and then Monday morning, I unraveled it and started over with 15 stitches instead. At first, it looked like it would be too skinny, but after knitting a few rows, I think it’s just right. This is how the scarf looks as of Monday night.

Skinny scarf This scarf is a little wonky, but oh well. The perfectionist in me would like to redo it, but I decided from the begining that this would be a “test scarf” and that perfection was not to be aimed for. All in all, though, I’m quite happy with it 🙂

Leave a Reply

