Ah, little bean

One laugh
undampened by oceans
carries me to you.

That’s the opening to a poem I wrote for Donnie back in June 2003 after our relationship started in Italy. And I don’t know why, but it seems related to what I feel for the little baby growing inside my belly–so close and yet he/she seems so far away!

Yep, that’s right! After 7 months of trying, we are 11 weeks pregnant, which means I’m due January 15 πŸ™‚ So far, we’ve had two peeks inside and have gotten two fun ultrasound pictures. In the first, the baby is 6 weeks + 5 days and is still technically an embryo, so what you’re seeing is the teeny tiny baby/fetal pole and the yolk sac (what the baby uses for food before the placenta develops). We could see the little heart flickering, which might be the cutest thing in the world, surprisingly enough πŸ™‚

Ultrasound - 6 week + 5 (5.27.09)In the second, the baby is 10 weeks + 3 days and should look more babyish, but it was a quickie ultrasound so the clarity of the image wasn’t the main goal; all the doctor wanted to see was the flickering heartbeat. So what you’re seeing is a profile shot of the little babe, with the little feet kicking on the left side and the little head at the other end.

Week 10+3 (6.22.09)

We’re not sure yet if we’ll find out the sex of the baby. A huge part of me wants it to be a surprise, partly because I like surprises and partly because if moms didn’t get to find out the sex of the baby until about 20 years ago, I figure I can wait too. Also, since we live in an apartment, we can’t really do much decorating anyway (i.e., I can’t paint murals and don’t want to pay for big holes in the wall for pictures and shelves), so not knowing the sex early on won’t affect us in that way (although we may be able to move into a house in December. We’ll see!). We’ll see how long I’m able to hold out. (Fortunately, Donnie is also ambivalent and is still open to either one.)

So far, everything has been healthy and happy with only fatigue, indigestion, and not being able to go more than 4 hours without eating being my major problems. It took a few weeks to get all that figured out, but I’m doing well now! We’re just praying that the baby continues to be safe and healthy and that we will be able to continue releasing any worries to God.

So now you can guess what I’m off to do: knit and crochet for the little bean!

5 Comments

  1. YEAH! I have been so anxious to read when the big internet announcement was coming! I am so excited for you. Yeah for babies! Did you read that Amanda is preggo too? She is due on January 6th. Can’t wait to see you and baby in August. Glad you are feeling better. love you much!

    I will get you the measurements for Emaline’s feet soon, for some cute little booties!

  2. Yay Claire! Congratulations! Finally found a working link to your blog, so now I’ll be eager for frequent updates.

Leave a Reply

